Thursday, June 29, 2006


Australia is the smallest, flattest, and driest inhabited continent in the world. It is the only country which is also a whole continent. 18.6 million people live here.
The people of Australia are called Australians. Australians call different parts of their country by different names:

• The City

Is any large city and its suburbs. Over 85% of the people live in cities. Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth and Canberra are major cities.

• The Country

Is the area immediately outside the city and usually includes the surrounding smaller towns and farms. Most of what is called "the country" is a stretch of land about 200 kilometres deep around the eastern and southern seaboards of Australia. Upper Beaconsfield, the Great Ocean Road , the Dandenongs, etc are in "the country".

• The Outback

Is the sparsely populated arid interior of Australia. The Australian Outback is both harsh and breathtakingly beautiful. It's like no other place on earth. Coober Pedy, Uluru, etc are in the Outback.
There are 6 states and 2 territories in Australia:
• Queensland
• New South Wales
• South Australia
• Tasmania
• Victoria
• Western Australia
• Northern Territory
• Australian Capital Territory

The capital of Australia is Canberra .
Australia has lots of unusual Animals.
Australia has the largest coral reef in the world called the Great Barrier Reef. It is stunning!.
Australians speak English. But we also have our own special words and phrases referred to as Strine.
Australia's favourite song is Waltzing Matilda


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home